#9 Drew Brees

Out of all the Saints Football players I like Drew Brees the best. I like him for two reasons one because he’s really hot and two because he is just as hot on the inside. I mention this because he has helped New Orleans a lot especially during the most needed times. When Hurricane Katrina happened he was there for the people. In 2003 he started the foundation The Brees Dream Foundation. The purpose of this foundation is to advance in cancer research and also to help children in need. He gives back a lot and to me that is what make him a great person. After he started this foundation when Hurricane Katrina happened he was there and helped with the rebuilding of New Orleans.

Personally I remember how sad the city was after the Hurricane. I spent a year away to live with my grandmother when my parents decided to go back and help clean up and they would not allow us to come back until they saw that things were getting better. When things were getting better my brother and I came back. As our parents were driving us back I remember seeing the city dead. Most of the houses and apartments I remember seeing as we left the city those were gone. At night I was afraid to sleep by myself because when the wind would sound strange and I would sit there on my bed and think of all the people that died during this hurricane. It was really a sad thing. So when Drew Brees led the New Orleans Saints to the 2010 Super Bowl it brought back some hope for the city.

Drew Brees is not just the quarterback of some team but also someone who gives back to the city he plays for in a time in need. He has his own foundation dedicated to help children, his wife is someone who is involved in giving back by helping children too, he helped with the rebuilding of New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina, and he has also joined with the organization Operation Kids. These are things that not a lot of people know about him because they are only shown the quarterback. There is a video that explains just some of the stuff that he does outside of the football field and it also tells you that he is not doing this alone but he has his wife right there with him. The Today Show did a little cover on him last year.

http://www.today.com/video/today/53499055#53499055

Standard

Leave a comment